Hi, I’m Anne

Hi, I’m Anne. I live in New York City. I have a background in higher education, first in teaching and then in higher education administration and specifically in educational technology. In my last job, I was hired as Chief Technology Officer for The General Theological Seminary–the oldest Episcopal Seminary in the U.S. The seminary is near SVA and occupies an entire city block in Chelsea.

I was hired in 2000 to teach the professors there how to incorporate technology in their teaching. However, when I arrived at the seminary, there was almost no technology and what was there was either broken, on the verge of breaking or out-dated. The campus was built in the 1800s, so is very historical (for the U.S.). I was mindful of designing technology solutions that did not negatively impact the overall design of the campus. It was a huge challenge with a limited budget and tiny staff, but it was amazing to be so hands on building out the first computer network, installing SMART classrooms, email servers, phone systems, security systems — and the list goes on and on.

Along the side, I have worked as a freelance graphic artist. I don’t have a formal arts education, but have taken Continuing Education courses at Parsons and SVA over the last ten or so years. I do like working with my hands, learning new techniques and and how to use new tools. I’ve done a lot of carpentry. I also know how to use a sewing machine. I like electronics, though I find it challenging. I got my amateur radio license a few years ago and that helped me to begin learning electronics. I’ve done some Arduino and Raspberry Pi projects.

I applied to SVA PoD to fulfill a life-long dream to go to art school. The PoD program made sense not only because non-traditional applicants were welcome but also as a way to integrate the threads of my education, job and life experience. I am looking forward to the next two years and hope to take what I learn at PoD back out in the world either by going back to teaching or working as a designer or both.

In my free time, I train with my martial arts school where I hold a black belt in kickboxing and jujitsu. I am also a certified personal trainer working mostly with older clients or those recovering from injuries. I’m married and my wife and I have a wonderful daughter who lives and works in Philadelphia. We live with our Caleb, our dog and Madison, our cat (who regularly appears in Zoom class meetings in the background).

Here is a link to a fun Halloween project I made: http://akeating.com/portfolio/doll-project/
%d bloggers like this: